

## Growing stronger together

CHLOÉ J. SENIOR, CLERK
21 Reeve Street, PO Box 1614
Woodstock, ON N4S 7Y3
519.539.9800, ext. 3001 | 1.800.755.0394
oxfordcounty.ca

March 11, 2021

The Honourable Steve Clark
Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing
VIA EMAIL

## Minister Clark:

This will acknowledge your letter of December 15, 2020 extending the deadline by which Oxford County was to complete a review of its council composition to March 31, 2021. I am writing to inform you that following several council reports, a public meeting, a public engagement campaign and several delegations to the area municipalities by the County Warden, Oxford County Council was unable to reach triple-majority consensus to either change or maintain its composition to take effect the next municipal election.

Oxford County Council, at its meeting of August 12, 2020 adopted a resolution that its composition be maintained as status quo beyond the current term of council. The chart below outlines the results on the triple majority test for maintaining status quo beyond the current term of council:

## Triple Majority Status for Maintaining Status Quo:

Triple Majority Support is defined in the Municipal Act as follows:

- 1. "A majority of all votes on upper tier council":
- ✓ A majority of the members of County of Oxford Council is defined in subsection 237(1) of the Municipal Act as "a majority of members representing at least one-half of the lower-tier municipalities is necessary to form a quorum".
- ✓ This was attained on August 12, 2020.
- 2. "A majority of all the lower-tier councils have passed resolutions consenting to the by-law"
- Five of the Eight Area Municipal Councils must be in support of the proposed by-law.
- ✓ The following area municipalities voted in support of maintaining status quo beyond the current term of council: Township of Blandford-Blenheim, Township of East Zorra-Tavistock, Township of Norwich, Township of South-West Oxford and the Township of Zorra.
- 3. "The total number of electors in the lower-tier municipalities that have passed resolutions consenting to the proposal form a majority of the electors of the upper-tier municipality"
- The sum of the electors in the Area Municipalities who have passed resolutions in support of the proposed by-law must add up to a minimum of 40,934 electors (one half plus one)



March 11, 2021 Page 2 of 2

\* The sum of the electors in the Area Municipalities who have passed resolutions in support of maintaining status quo beyond the current term of council add up to 30,349, a shortfall of 10,585.

## 2020 Council Composition and Election of Warden Resolutions received from area municipalities

Municipality	Electors (2018)	Support for status quo?	number of electors represented
Township of Blandford- Blenheim	5,940	1	5,940
Township of East Zorra- Tavistock	5,157	1	5,157
Town of Ingersoll	9,264	0	0
Township of Norwich	7,711	1	7,711
Township of South-West Oxford	5,367	1	5,367
Town of Tillsonburg	12,583	0	0
City of Woodstock	29,669	0	0
Township of Zorra	6,174	1	6,174
Total Eligible Voters Oxford County (2018)	81,865	5	30,349
Majority	40,934		

Although a consensus has not been reached, there has been some discussion amongst a few of the area municipalities regarding issues such as the implementation of weighted voting and the method of electing the Warden, which may be explored pending either the outcome of the Minister's review of council's composition or if directed by council.

Enclosed for your information is the latest Council report (<u>linked here</u>) which contains all of the background information with respect to our review of Council's composition. Also enclosed are resolutions from the area municipalities received since the publication of that report on October 14, 2020.

Do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions or concerns. We look forward to your response and direction.

Sincerely,

Chloé J. Senior Clerk

Encl. Report No. CS 2020-41; Resolutions from Area Municipalities since October 14, 2021

Cc: Oxford County Council, Area Municipal Clerks of Oxford County, M. Duben, CAO – Oxford County, Ian Kerr – Regional Director, Western Municipal Services Office, Joanna Saraiva - Municipal Advisor, Saffullah Sumbal, Manager, Local Government and Housing